Kenya has named their Simbas squad for the 2018 Gold Cup. Photo: Twitter

The Africa Rugby Gold Cup campaign starting in June will give African teams a chance to qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The six-team competition will be held on a home and away basis with the winner of the competition not only being crowned African champion but will also secure direct qualification to the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The second placed team will join teams from Europe, Asia and South America in the Repechage process for the final spot at the Rugby World Cup.

South Africa have already qualified from Africa but two more teams from Zimbabwe, Morocco, Namibia, Uganda, Tunisia and Kenya will be joining them later.

Kenya were first out of the blocks by naming their provisional 18-man squad to face Morocco, in Morocco.

The Kenya squad: 

Oscar Simiyu, Philip Ikambili, Dennis Karani, Wilson Kopondo, George Nyambua, Elkeans Musonye, Davis Chenge, Stephen Otieno, Samson Onsomu, Nato Simiyu, Jacob Ojee, Leo Seje, Peter Kilonzo, Alex Olaba, Darwin Mukidza, Curtis Lilako, Martin Owila, Michael Wanjala.  

- African News Agency (ANA)