Delegates queue on Monday morning to vote for new leaders at the 54th African National Congress national conference. Picture: Siphelele Dludla/ANA

Voting for the new African National Congress (ANC) leader to succeed President Jacob Zuma continued Monday morning, at Nasrec in Johannesburg.

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa and former African Union Commission chair, Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma are vying for the top job with 4 776 voting delegates thought to be split down the middle. 

Ramaphosa received 1 469 nominations from six provinces for president, while Dlamini Zuma received 1 094 nominations.

Delegates are also casting their ballots for the party's deputy president, national chairperson, secretary general, deputy secretary general, and treasurer general.

The withdrawal of outgoing ANC treasurer, Zweli Mkhize, from the race has left Mpumalanga's David Mabuza, who was nominated by 1 128 branch delegates from six provinces and Human Settlements Minister Lindiwe Sisulu with 619 branch nominations from four provinces contesting for the deputy president position.

The position of national chairperson is between outgoing secretary general, Gwede Mantashe, who received 1,499 nominations from seven provinces, and Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa who received 807 nominations from five provinces. Both accepted their nominations.

The secretary general position pits Senzo Mchunu from KwaZulu-Natal who received 1 479 nominations from seven provinces against long-serving Free State premier, Ace Magashule, who received 930 nominations from five provinces.

Jessie Duarte is standing for reelection at deputy secretary general after receiving 845 branch nominations from seven provinces. She is up against Zingiswa Losi, the deputy president of alliance partner the Congress of South African Trade Unions, who received 361 nominations from three provinces. 

ANC Gauteng provincial chairperson Paul Mashatile, who received 1581 nominations from seven provinces is up against Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, South Africa’s international relations minister, who received 275 nominations from four provinces.

Science and Technology Minister Naledi Pandor declined nomination. Water and Sanitation Minister Nomvula Mokonyane withdrew her nomination during the process.

Delegates from KwaZulu-Natal were still voting at about 7 am on Monday and only Eastern Cape, Limpopo, and Gauteng were yet to vote.

African News Agency/ANA